top of page
Search

Things to consider (WIP, will be added to)

Updated: Oct 13, 2022

Throughout my course, I have gained experience with filming and editing music videos, including lip-syncing and cutting to the beat. Naturally, as I learn, I make mistakes and whilst none made have been disastrous and completely derailed my process, I have learnt what I should and should not do.

1) When in doubt, refilm. This could be because of poor lighting, bad lip-syncing or shaky camerawork but it will make the final product look messy and disorganised. In addition, it could lead to valuable moments being cut out. Multiple takes will allow the work to look smoother and reach its full potential.
I learnt this when, whilst filming with my friend Amy, some bad lip-syncing/camerawork lead to the last part of the song being entirely cut out as we didn't have the right lip-syncing footage for it.
Remember the 10:1 ratio - since we're filming for 3 minutes worth of footage, we need to shoot 30 minutes worth of content.

2) Always work on the same computer. The program I used to edit is Adobe Premier Pro, but it has a quirk. Essentially, the correct files to make the video can only be found on one computer, regardless or not if you were logged into One-Drive.
I first learnt this when I was editing some lip-syncing of Mr Mba, one of my media teachers. I was working on one computer one lesson, and another computer another lesson. this led to my work being inaccessible and delayed.

3) Cutting is key. Lip-syncing must be tight and precise, or it will look wrong and force an unnatural disconnect between view and viewer, and cutting to the beat adds impact for the audience and emphasises certain aspects of the film/creation.
I first lip-synced with a video of myself filmed by Amy (mentioned above) but the first time I tried cutting to the beat of the song was with Giant. It worked well as I concentrated with syncing, all the footage was filler footage (no lip-syncing, to be fair the audio was just the instrumental) and I worked on the same computer throughout.

4) Remove distractions like your phone and tablet while you're editing. These will distract you. Get a fidget cube or a fidget toy if you feel the need to click around with something whilst working.
0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Final video:

https://ketteringbuccleuch-my.sharepoint.com/:v:/g/personal/21ballc_students_kba_uk/EXYMGTrczWpEk5xrzo7cussBH4DqQWCo-oB71EQArGIxaw

Website process

I created a website for my artist with Wix, using the same account I made for the blog. Unlike the blog, I was allowed to play around with image composition and colour schemes through the website. I w

Editing progress: 10th November 2022

Editing is going well, albeit I haven't yet captured all my footage. I'm hoping to complete it this weekend as my dad and brother are going out, leaving me alone at home. In addition, footage my siste

Post: Blog2_Post

©2022 by Constance Ball. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page